Did I offend?

There is a fine line between Offensive humour meant in fun and being an insensitive Jack-ass sometimes.

There is also a distinction between what constitutes Excericising ones Freedom of Speech and Abusing ones Freedom of Speech.

A guy walks up to a strange woman in the bar and asks “Does the carpet match the drapes?” I will buy her a drink and toast her good health after she finishes giving him a DIY gender reassignmnet.

Woman logs on to Facebook, see’s a status update from a “friend” or “friend of a friend” that says “I need to find I girl who likes spending her time on her knees wink wink!” and blows up is going a bit too far. Say your offended, fine. Send a private message, Ok.  Don’t go Demanding it’s Removal in the comments section though.

It was a joke and an old one. When someone takes offense you say “I meant praying, you perv” or similar, Offensive humour? Definitely. Was it an excercise in Free Speech, Yes, his page, his status update, noone HAS to look at it if they don’t want to.

A bit insensitive I admit, but still just a silly joke. Let me iterate something. This page is Not filled to the brim with misogynistic comments, jokes and pictures. The occasional “off color” joke or pic yes, but no different from millions of others who don’t mean any real offense. Also, again this is a Facebook page, not a billboard, not a bar, not a workplace environment, not in the check- out line at a grocery store sandwiched between two 85 year old grandmothers, it’s not even a a Blog with a public comment section. It’s a personal Facebook page that noone is under any obligation to subscribe to or even look at.

Hell I probably post more offensive items than he does and “God” knows I have nothing but respect for the female gender, not all who fall in that category but the gender in general.

He’s also a young teenager, what can you really Expect from someone under the age of 17?

For the sake of disclosure, he is also my Son. This does bring up the possibility of bias on my part but really, we don’t always see eye to eye and if I really thought he was being a chauvinistic pig I would be all over it.

(How do I live with myself spreading this misogynistic garbage?)

.
Tags: , , ,

About William

Just a Blogger with too much time to kill. Ranting and Raving about whatever is on my mind when I sit down to type. Politics, Religion, Social issues even Personal crap..errr ...Revelations at times.

2 responses to “Did I offend?”

  1. fringewalk says :

    I think this woman may need to get herself some good lovin/good smoke?!
    Nah, i don’t think you’re being bias, I think that’s pretty tame for a teenager. And she can change her settings so she doesn’t see his posts, or ‘friends of friends’ posts. Nosy mare! 😉
    PS lol @ the picture!

    • William says :

      we went a few rounds over it but I think it’s settled. She has some personal issues that set her off but some things should be handled in private not all over Facebook

      I get a little pic happy ..lol

Werdz Go Heer

