Big Government Vs. Small Government

Talk about a cluster-f*ck debate. I can’t even find a clear consensus of what “Big Governement” even IS!

The term “Big Government” is short, simple, fits a bumper sticker and makes absolutley no goddamned sense to anyone with an intact pre-frontal cortex.

Standard Republican tactics, complicate the issue beyond the scope of ALL logic and then squeeze 10 pounds of Political Rhetoric into a 3 pound SoundByte.

I’ve heard and read that it means too many people in Government, too many Federal agencies, too many Governemnt programs, too much regulation, too many ‘welfare’ programs, too many coffee vendors, too many points of view.

Basicly you name it and somebody will say Big Government has too much of it. Well ok, add all that up and you got yourself one Huge Governemnt.

Only problem though is you can’t just cut-out a few so-called “entitlement” programs, strip a bunch of regulations and drown the EPA in a toxic sludge lake like a sack of homless kids the way most Tea Baggers and their type would have it and call it a day.

By the way, if somehow one of you mental defects is reading this…

MEDICARE IS AN ENITLEMENT PROGRAM DUMB-ASS!!! and so is SOCIAL SECURITY YA-MORON!

The U.S Government IS too big, that I can agree with. Problem is, it’s been growing for a couple of Hundred Years.

We are Not going to cure the countries problems buy cutting the throats of a couple hundred  million poor people. Theres still going to be a few hundred million more left once you include the Middle-Class families that will fall to that level when all their jobs go overseas.

These people are gonna be Pissed Off and with not a damned thing to lose. Remember all those Occupy protests? Does anybody want to see what happens when ten times as many of them are homeless on the streets, our children starving, our mothers and fathers sick and dying and nowhere for us to turn?

That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.

 - Declaration of Independence, July 4th, 1776

Personally I would rather not find out the answer.

The only way to cure Big Government is through logical and reasonable review and reassesment of all Government interests. Top down auditting and restructuring is the only answer. Starting with Congress itself.

Did you know Congress votes their own Raises? Ain’t that sweet, I would Love a job where I can just give myself a raise if I friggin want to regardless of whether I actualy Do My Job or not.

Want to cut-down warm bodies on Capitol Hill? Ok, how about the army of support staff the Congresspersons utilize. How damned many assistants  and secretaries does one do nothing Congressperson need anyway?

House of Reps 18 plus 4 part-time/shared Senate who knows, it goes by State Population

Third party assesment from Capitol Hill on down is the best and really the only way to get things under control. Additionaly I would say there are some programs that could be looked into by a secondary Audit team for more immediate effects. Reviews of Pentagon spending being a priority.

According to some statistics the so-called “Defense Budget” is about 25% of the GDP (thats a conservative estimate) for no legitimate reason.

I’ve known Many people in all branches of the U.S Military and they can tell you the average grunt is poorly equipped and often left to their own devices to properly protect themselves in the field. Billions to the Pentagon equals pennies per personnel in the real world.

I don’t advocate a straight military budget cut, I advocate an audit and reorganization of spending which would reduce the budget all on it”s own by cutting out the crap and putting the money where it needs to be.

I am not pro- Big Government or Pro- Small Government what I am in favor of is Sensible and Efficient Government.

Yes I do realize thats as likely as flying pink pigs sailing over my roof, but you know what? Gimme a can of spray paint some 2×4’s and a truckload of bungee chords and we’ll Git’r Done!

.

Tags: , , ,

About William

Just a Blogger with too much time to kill. Ranting and Raving about whatever is on my mind when I sit down to type. Politics, Religion, Social issues even Personal crap..errr ...Revelations at times.

4 responses to “Big Government Vs. Small Government”

  1. suzzymilkmaid says :

    I think the only way for the rich to get rid of their fear is to take care of the poor

    • William says :

      It would be something if Everyone had to spend a year or two Poor..

      I read a book once, I forget the title, where everyone had to spend one year as a begger when they became an adult. The laws of course protected beggers, it was a High crime to harm one without cause.

      They also had a Marriage custom where just after you were engaged, the first begger the couple met after it was made official would go back and forth living in their homes and cared for like family until the marriage.

      If they were treated well with true kindness they gave their blessing to the newly weds. To not get the blessing was a curse on the marriage.

      Interesting culture where the Poor held more respect than the Richest in town.

      • suzzymilkmaid says :

        I never thought it was a good idea to claw my way up the social-economic heap at the expense of the weaker minds around me. So I let myself fall to the bottom and share the isolation and rejection of society with those who were forced to suffer in that position. I did manage to see through the illusion of bottom and top and so am no longer a victim. So you and I know the solution isn’t economical or political, it is spiritual.

  2. William says :

    I started at the bottom and stayed there 🙂

    I don’t qualify as “weaker minds” I hope, though I’m really not that bright, so maybe so ..lol

    I do like your way of seeing it. Never a reason to step on others that have never done you any harm just to have a lil more than the next guy.

Werdz Go Heer

