W.Y.S.I.W.Y.G

What You See Is What You Get

Interesting phrase there, if you really think about it. (I contemplate the oddest things sometimes when I’m bored”.

It’s quite true of everything, especialy people.

What you see of someone is what what you get if you get close to them. Though some would say otherwise. They would say, some people portray themselves one way and what they really are is another. So they didn’t Get what they Saw. Sorry, but you did, you just didn’t know what your were looking at is all.

The Real person was there all along, they were just standing behind a translucent facade which your perception wasn’t able to penetrate. Not necassarily your fault, some are just good and some are absolute masters of manipulating their own image as viewd by the people around them Then again sometimes it Is your own fault for being willfully blind to the “man behind the curtain”

Whether self-delusion or master manipulation is the cause, makes no difference to the fact that the persons Real self is always visible. Clouded over and difficult, sometimes near impossible, to see but always there if you know how to look.

I’m not saying I’m an expert, I have been duped before and I’m sure it’ll happen again sometime.

Hiding behind a mask of Charm and Charisma to reel people in, to use and abuse is wrong, plain and simple. That doens’t mean creating such an image is Always evil though. There are people who do it to protect themselves from emotional harm or to acheive a non-nefarious goal.

Actors do it all the time, it’s what they Are. Polititions, the rare actually care about the people ones, do it to get into a position to make progressive change. Being timid and showing a lack of confidence in oneself is career suicide when your in the public spotlight.

Also, emotionally damaged people are often the cheeriest or “coolest” people you could meet, though deeper down their shaking with fear or screaming silently in their own personal hell.

I was recently described as “what you see is what you get”. I take it as a compliment beyond the simple sentiment that I’m an Honest kinda guy. Some people can sometimes see thru My facade and what they see is something more than most do.

The thoughts I put on this Blog are Honest if not always complete, so please don’t get the impression I’m trying to “dupe” anyone. I just don’t give all of myself openly to the public.

The point that I’m beating around here is, what you See is based on your perceptions and we all need to remember that perceptions are subjective and not always trustworthy. So keep an open-mind and question everything, including your own perceptions and opinions.

Be sure you know what your seeing before you get burned..

 

 

 

.

About William

Just a Blogger with too much time to kill. Ranting and Raving about whatever is on my mind when I sit down to type. Politics, Religion, Social issues even Personal crap..errr ...Revelations at times.

12 responses to “W.Y.S.I.W.Y.G”

  1. suzzymilkmaid says :

    I did mean it as a compliment.

  2. Author Jodi Ambrose says :

    This post is brilliant!!! 🙂 You hit the nail on the head. One of my favorite lines in a song is, “A smile from a veil, do you think you could tell?” It’s all about the facade a lot of us hide behind. I used to, but NO MORE! As you can tell, I let it ALL hang out at this point in my life. Thanks for the great read!

  3. happinessisnotadisease says :

    I’ll amen to this! 🙂

Werdz Go Heer

